

For Immediate Release April 27, 2022

# OHIO COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS NAMED TO 2022 ALL-OHIO ACADEMIC TEAM

COLUMBUS – Today more than 60 students from Ohio's 23 community colleges were honored for their excellence in academics, leadership and community service by Ohio's Chancellor of Higher Education Randy Gardner as part of the 2022 All-Ohio Academic Team. The event was held as part of celebrations of Community College Month in Ohio.

"Ohio's community colleges provide a welcoming environment where students can thrive and succeed even if that may not have been the case in previous educational settings," said Jack Hershey, president and CEO of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC). "We are so proud of these outstanding students, our best and brightest, for their academic excellence and we look forward to seeing them become leaders in their careers."

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa national honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

"The achievements of these students reflect their personal drive and commitment, as well as the quality educational experience and support that is characteristic of our state's community colleges. They are truly the gateways to a successful next chapter for so many Ohioans — those entering from high school, those pursuing a certificate or degree after a break from learning, or those looking to retrain or upskill," Chancellor Gardner said. "Members of this year's All-Ohio Academic Team will be tomorrow's leaders who will make their communities and our state even stronger."

The top-performing students were nominated by college faculty, staff and leaders. Students recognized as first-team honorees will receive \$500 scholarships, while second-team members earn \$250 scholarships to assist students transferring on to universities to complete their bachelor's degree requirements. The All-Ohio Academic Team also includes high-achieving students who are planning to move directly into the workforce will also be recognized and receive awards.

Below are this year's winners.

## **First Team**

Torie Bockey, Rhodes State College Torri Brown, Eastern Gateway Community College Japharneet Kaur, Cincinnati State Technical & Community Kara Loader, Zane State College Brennan Patterson, Clark State College

#### **Second Team**

Sydnie Bovard, Stark State College Nicolas Ikonga, Cincinnati State Technical & Community Mackenzie Rader, Rhodes State College Jonathan Roberts, Columbus State Community College

Andrew Schoppelrei, Marion Technical College Emese Toth, Lorain County Community College Makayla Stormer, North Central State College

Brittany Kramer, Lorain County Community College Alejandro Marin-Duran, Zane State College Emma Rittenhouse, Clark State College Janice Robinson, Lakeland Community College Gabrielle Sudal, Eastern Gateway Community College

Erica Uhlenhake, Rhodes State College Michael Waite, Northwest State Community College

Saywrane Williams, Cuyahoga Community College

Josephine Vano, Lakeland Community College Amber Lockett, Owens Community College Rebekah Schmersal, Rhodes State College Ethan Crowder, Southern State Community College

Taylor Lemasters, Washington State Community College

## **Third Team**

College

Brandy Baker, Southern State Community College

Jeffrey Baugham, Sinclair Community College Robert Berg, Cuyahoga Community College Saundreca Bradley, Columbus State Community College

Cassandra Brewer, Stark State College Logan Chaney, Edison State Community College Joshua Chavez, Terra State Community College Layne Claudy, Edison Community College Joshua Crewes, Stark State College Robert Dahdouh, Cuyahoga Community College Matthew Defalco, Edison State Community

Joseph Duncan, Central Ohio Technical College Safiyyah Dundee, Eastern Gateway Community College

Airica Edmonds, Central Ohio Technical College Doris Egbunike, Cuyahoga Community College Brandi Ferrarini, Cuyahoga Community College Bailey Goodrich, Central Ohio Technical College David Harr, Washington State Community College

Elise Hays, Edison Community College Robert Hensley, Terra State Community College Michelle Malick, Cuyahoga Community College Darko Marinkovic, Cuyahoga Community College Alexa Marley, Belmont College Cade Mickley, North Central State College Twala Miller, Central Ohio Technical College Valero Morris, Eastern Gateway Community College

Lauren Parrish, Hocking College Maria Claudia Prada, Cuyahoga Community College

Alexis Quinlisk, Rhodes State College Bridgette Rooths, Clark State College Candice Runnion, Washington State Community College

Brandon Scholten, Marion Technical College Zerrin Scott, Columbus State Community College Rachel Shepherd, Southern State Community College

Charmella Smith, Eastern Gateway Community College

Mackenzie Smith, Washington State Community College

Morgan Spanulo, Cuyahoga Community College Eric Tomlinson, Sinclair Community College Nila Upreti, Columbus State Community College Danielle Wallace, Lakeland Community College Minghuang Wang, Cuyahoga Community College Samuel Weaver, Stark State College Aaron Wilburn, Sinclair Community College Janice Willie, Cuyahoga Community College Denise Willow, Cuyahoga Community College

-30-

The Ohio Association of Community Colleges is comprised of the presidents and trustees of the state's 23 community colleges, which serve 300,000 students. Dating back to 1972, the OACC advocates for Ohio's community colleges before state government, employers and other education and workforce leaders. For more information on the OACC, visit <a href="www.OhioCommunityColleges.org">www.OhioCommunityColleges.org</a>.

# Media Contact:

Jack Hershey or Tom Walsh Ohio Association of Community Colleges (614) 221-6222