

For Immediate Release April 28, 2023

OHIO COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS NAMED TO 2023 ALL-OHIO ACADEMIC TEAM

COLUMBUS – Today nearly 80 students from Ohio's 23 community colleges were honored for their excellence in academics, leadership, and community service by Ohio's Department of Higher Education Chancellor Randy Gardner as part of the 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team. The event was held as part of celebrations of Community College Month in Ohio.

"Our community colleges play an essential role in moving Ohio to the front and center of today's economy," said Jack Hershey, president and CEO of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC). "We celebrate their work by recognizing the 2023 All-Ohio Academic Team. These men and women, representing all parts of the state, are shining examples of the way Ohio's 23 community colleges are preparing the well-educated, motived workforce our employers seek and the new global economy demands."

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa national honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

"I am pleased to congratulate each of these honorees," Chancellor Gardner said. "The members of this year's All-Ohio Academic Team are poised to become the leaders of tomorrow, contributing to the strength and vitality of their communities and our great state."

The top-performing students were nominated by college faculty, staff and leaders. Students recognized as first-team honorees will receive \$500 scholarships, while second-team members earn \$250 scholarships to assist students transferring on to universities to complete their bachelor's degree requirements. The All-Ohio Academic Team also includes high-achieving students who are planning to move directly into the workforce will also be recognized and receive awards.

Below are this year's winners.

First Team

Kwabena Agyemang, Lorain County Community College (Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze Scholar) Caleb Aukerman, Rhodes State College, Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Scholar Kimberly Boyer, Eastern Gateway Community College (Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar) Robert Bradshaw, Southern State Community College (Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver Scholar)

Second Team

Elisa Amissah, Cincinnati State Technical & Community Alyssa Derry, Zane State College Ethan Gault, Washington State Community College Yamikani Lapozo, Hocking College Noor Deif, Lorain County Community College (Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar) Ella George, Stark State College Abigale Jordan, Marion Technical College Emma Poulton, Washington State Community College (Coca-Cola New Century Transfer Scholar) Aminata Sherif, Columbus State Community College David Sullivan, Rhodes State College

Benjamin Nash, Stark State College Bridget Saultz, Clark State College Ashley Smith, Eastern Gateway Community College Andrew Sobhy, Cuyahoga Community College Susanna Stoepfel, Cuyahoga Community College

Third Team

Kali Allomong, Cuyahoga Community College Rawan Awad, Cuyahoga Community College Elizabeth Ballard, Terra State Community College Breah Barnhart, Hocking College Cassandra Billings, Rhodes State College Michael Blevins, Owens Community College Sydney Blouir, University of Rio Grande Abigail Brown, Owens Community College Sarah Buckman, Eastern Gateway Community College Saige Carter, Lakeland Community College Wen Chen, Terra State Community College Amanda Clark. Terra State Community College Kayla Coleman, Cincinnati State Technical & Community Diadji Diawara, Columbus State Community College David Elmore, Eastern Gateway Community College Tina Foley, North Central State College Steve Gault, Rhodes State College Abigail Getz. Clark State College Ciara Giamarco, Marion Technical College Brandy Green, Clark State College Holly Grimes, Zane State College Corey Hare, Sinclair Community College Rachel Harstad, Clark State College Ramiro Hernandez, Cuyahoga Community College Kendall Holmes, Clark State College Carly Isaacs, Washington State Community College Naeema Ismail, Central Ohio Technical College Hokeun Jee, Lakeland Community College

Jennifer Jones, Cuyahoga Community College Laquetta Lucas, Cuyahoga Community College Peyton Magee, Southern State Community College Rachel Maldonado Santiago, Cuyahoga Community College Monica Mitchell, Clark State College Amira Mohamed, Sinclair Community College Tammy Monroe, Stark State College Olivia Myart, Eastern Gateway Community College Randi Peters, Stark State College Nathaniel Routson, Terra State Community College Kassidy Shaffer, University of Rio Grande, Korben Sperling, Columbus State Community College Makenna Steward, Zane State College James Stuart, Eastern Gateway Community College Mikaila Sweeney, Owens Community College Eman Tarairah, Cuyahoga Community College Kelly Tryda, Cuyahoga Community College Chance Zoe Tuyishime, Sinclair Community College Taylor Vild, Cuyahoga Community College Kristina Wasiniak, Hocking College

George Wentworth, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College

Nicole Youngkin, Cuyahoga Community College Mellisa Zaccaria, Columbus State Community College Madison Zajaczkowski, Lakeland Community College Rebecca Zamarripa, Cuyahoga Community College Izabela Zoga, Cuyahoga Community College

-30-

The Ohio Association of Community Colleges is comprised of the presidents and trustees of the state's 23 community colleges, which serve 300,000 students. Dating back to 1972, the OACC advocates for Ohio's community colleges before state government, employers and other education and workforce leaders. For more information on the OACC, visit www.OhioCommunityColleges.org.

Media Contact:

Jack Hershey or Tom Walsh Ohio Association of Community Colleges (614) 221-6222