

For Immediate Release April 26, 2024

56 OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS HONORED AS MEMBERS OF THE 2024 ALL-OHIO ACADEMIC TEAM

COLUMBUS – Fifty-six outstanding students from Ohio's 23 community colleges have been honored as members of the 2024 All-Ohio Academic Team. The event, which recognizes students from around the state for their excellence in academics, leadership, and community service, is part of celebrations of Community College Month in Ohio.

"Ohio's economy and the careers it supports are transforming at a thrilling pace, and our community colleges play an essential role in preparing the workforce this exciting new technology-focused age requires," said Tom Walsh, interim president of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC). "The 2024 All-Ohio Academic Team, coming from all parts of the state, are in the vanguard this transformation. Their success as students and the promise they show for their chosen careers is testimony to the contributions that Ohio's 23 community colleges are making as they help develop the well-educated, motived workforce that will drive our state's economy for many years ahead."

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration between the OACC, Phi Theta Kappa national honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

"I am honored to congratulate these All-Ohio Academic Team members," said Ohio Department of Higher Education Chancellor Mike Duffey. "Through their academic achievement and breadth of leadership, each will contribute to the strength and vitality of our state."

The top-performing students were nominated by college faculty, staff and other campus leaders. Students recognized as first-team honorees will receive \$500 scholarships, while second-team members earn \$250 scholarships to assist students transferring on to universities to complete their bachelor's degree requirements. The All-Ohio Academic Team also includes high-achieving students who are planning to move directly into the workforce. They will also receive recognition and awards.

Members of the 2024 All-Ohio Academic Team are:

First Team

Marissa Brigger, Lorain County Community College – Brunswick, OH

Morgan Dornbusch, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Cincinnati, OH

Heisenberg Francis, Columbus State Community College – Columbus, OH

Samantha Knepper, Rhodes State College – Delphos, OH

Faith Meraz, Northwest State Community College – Paulding, OH

Isabella Morales, Lorain County Community College – Vermilion, OH

Ayodele Onoyungbo, Cuyahoga Community College – Willoughby Hills, OH

Robert Schultz, Sinclair Community College – Dayton, OH

Rachel Shelton, Rhodes State College – Lima, OH

Bryan Ward, Eastern Gateway Community College

Second Team

Isayah Curtis, Columbus State Community College – Westerville, OH

Madison Curtis, Southern State Community College – Hillsboro, OH

Joseph Demore, Lakeland Community College – Painesville, OH

Jamie Feuerbach, Eastern Gateway Community College – Morrow, OH

John Hancock, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Cincinnati, OH

Third Team

Gloria Aguiar, Eastern Gateway Community College

Sean Allen, Clark State College Deziree Ayers, Rhodes State College Dominique Ballard, Cuyahoga Community College

Kirby Bjostad, Cuyahoga Community College Clara Blau, Eastern Gateway Community College Samantha Cain, Cuyahoga Community College Cedrick Dave R Charles, Clark State College Patronica Cohen, Clark State College Troy Combs, Eastern Gateway Community College

Drew Conley, Zane State College
Ashton Cooper, Cuyahoga Community College
Rebecca Dillon, Clark State College
Amy Everhart, Central Ohio Technical College
Jeannie Fritz, Stark State College
Katrusia Fritzky, Cuyahoga Community College
Meagan Gegner, Sinclair Community College
Chloe Jackson, Eastern Gateway Community
College

Allyson Janes, Hocking College

Helena Hardy, Washington State College of Ohio – Marietta, OH

Robert Schatzer, Sinclair Community College – Waynesville, OH

Amanda Stricker, Columbus State Community College – Columbus, OH

Valerie Voss, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Cincinnati, OH Lillian Westbrock, Washington State College of

Ohio – Marietta, OH

Kayla Klugh, Marion Technical College Gregg Laukhuf, Owens Community College Alyk Lippincott, Southern State Community College

Ikia Martin, Stark State College Miranda McClurg, Southern State Community College

Frederick McKitrick, Washington State College of Ohio

Seth Millhoane, Cuyahoga Community College Taylor Mountcastle, Cuyahoga Community College

Melissa Norris, Eastern Gateway Community College

Victor Palermo, Lakeland Community College Brenna Remy, Hocking College Jenna Rhoades, Southern State Community College

Kimberly Sallee, Hocking College McKenna Schramm, Zane State College Angelica Serrato, Sinclair Community College Justin Showman, Zane State College Bethany Wallace, Rhodes State College

###

The Ohio Association of Community Colleges is comprised of the presidents and trustees of the state's 23 community colleges, which serve 300,000 students. Dating back to 1972, the OACC advocates for Ohio's community colleges before state government, employers and other education and workforce leaders. For more information on the OACC, visit www.OhioCommunityColleges.org.

Media Contact:

Tom Walsh Ohio Association of Community Colleges (614) 221-6222