

For Immediate Release May 1, 2025

# 52 OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS HONORED AS MEMBERS OF THE 2025 ALL-OHIO ACADEMIC TEAM

COLUMBUS – Ohio's community colleges are capping off their celebration of Community College Month by recognizing a new class of academic all-stars.

Fifty-two students have been picked for the 2025 All-Ohio Academic Team, an honor that recognizes them for their excellence in academics, leadership, and community service. College faculty, staff, and other campus leaders nominated these top-performing students for this honor.

"Ohio's economy and the careers it supports are transforming at a thrilling pace, and our community colleges play an essential role in preparing the workforce that this exciting technology-focused age requires," said Avi Zaffini, President and CEO of the Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC). "Members of the 2025 All-Ohio Academic Team, coming from all parts of the state, are leading this transformation. Their success as students and the promise they show for their chosen careers is testimony to the contributions that Ohio's community colleges are making as they help develop the well-educated, motivated workforce that will drive our state's economy for many years ahead."

The All-Ohio Academic Team program is a collaboration of the OACC, the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society and Honda, the event sponsor.

"I am honored to congratulate these All-Ohio Academic Team members," said Ohio Department of Higher Education Chancellor Mike Duffey. "Through their academic achievement and breadth of leadership, each will contribute to the strength and vitality of our state."

First-team honorees will receive \$1,000 scholarships, second-team members will receive \$500 scholarships, and third-team members will receive \$250 scholarships. The scholarships are meant to help the honorees transfer to universities to complete their bachelor's degree requirements.

The team also includes students planning to move directly into the workforce. They too will receive recognition and awards.

In addition to the state awards, four students were selected for national community college honors.

Members of the 2025 All-Ohio Academic Team are:

#### First Team:

Annalise Smith, Clark State College – Springfield, Ohio

Michael Sousa, Clark State College - Troy, Ohio

Emma Jirathearanat, Columbus State Community College – Dublin, Ohio

Fatema Abdulaziz, Cuyahoga Community College - Westlake, Ohio

Valentina Teles, Cuyahoga Community College – Parma Heights, Ohio

Julia Monaco, Lakeland Community College – South Euclid, Ohio Sharon Russell, Marion Technical College – Delaware, Ohio Alaina Imboden, Sinclair Community College – Tipp City Alanna Mays, Southern State Community College – Winchester, Ohio Jada Breidenbach, Terra State Community College – Tiffin, Ohio

# Second Team:

Machoucourath Issoufou, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Mason, Ohio Haley Middendorf, Columbus State Community College – Columbus, Ohio Rachel Ketler, Cuyahoga Community College – Orrville, Ohio Jeremy Mrva, Lakeland Community College – Kirtland, Ohio Olivia Bogna, Lorain County Community College – Avon, Ohio Quinn Allmon, Rhodes State College – Bellefontaine, Ohio Megan Clark, Rhodes State College – Marion, Ohio Dana Aramouni, Stark State College – Canton, Ohio Michelle Durst, Terra State Community College – Fostoria, Ohio

## Third Team:

Robert Castline, Central Ohio Technical College – Mount Vernon, Ohio Jady French, Central Ohio Technical College – Blacklick, Ohio Ana Salinas-Espino, Central Ohio Technical College – Carroll, Ohio Chioma Ezeilo, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Mason, Ohio Cadi Nemecek, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Loveland, Ohio Michael Warwayesyn, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College – Cincinnati, Ohio Clare Grooms, Clark State College – Springfield, Ohio Maura Gipe, Columbus State Community College – Columbus, Ohio Juangabriel Heredia-Ramirez, Columbus State Community College – Groveport, Ohio Deana Zayed, Cuyahoga Community College - Beachwood, Ohio Santina Lauter, Cuyahoga Community College – Cleveland, Ohio Edward Lukenge, Cuvahoga Community College - Cleveland Heights, Ohio Jesse Osadciw, Cuyahoga Community College – Parma Heights, Ohio Diana Rampersaud, Cuyahoga Community College – Elyria, Ohio Michelle Benedict, Edison State Community College – Arcanum, Ohio Abby Lamm, Edison State Community College – Minster, Ohio Jordan Ritchie, Edison State Community College – West Alexandria, Ohio

Emma Pahl, Marion Technical College – Bucyrus, Ohio

Andrew Schlecht, Marion Technical College - Waldo, Ohio

James Henige, Owens Community College – Freeland, Michigan

Riley Ellenberger, Rhodes State College - Fort Recovery, Ohio

Cooper Jeffers-Flinner, Rio Grande Community College – Gallipolis, Ohio

David Tapley, Rhodes State College - Harrod, Ohio

Morgan Sanders, Sinclair Community College - Fairfield, Ohio

Chandra Dean, Southern State Community College - Greenfield, Ohio

Adam Heizer, Southern State Community College - Hillsboro, Ohio

Madison Newman, Southern State Community College – Washington Court House, Ohio

Prince Ampomah, Stark State College – Akron, Ohio

Angella Hamrick, Stark State College – Massillon, Ohio

Joe Waldron, Stark State College - Dalton, Ohio

Emilee Hoffman, Terra State Community College – Clyde, Ohio

Kyndal Buchanan, Washington State College of Ohio – Lower Salem, Ohio

Olivia Olsen, Washington State College of Ohio – Marietta, Ohio

#### National Award Winners:

Jada Breidenbach and Annalise Smith were selected to receive silver awards from the Coca-Cola Academic Team.

Alanna Mays was chosen as the Coca-Cola New Century Transfer Scholar for Ohio.

Sharon Russell was picked as the Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Scholar for Ohio.

-30-

## About the Ohio Association of Community Colleges:

The Ohio Association of Community Colleges (OACC) represents the presidents and trustees of Ohio's 22 public two-year institutions, advancing community colleges through policy advocacy, professional development, and strategic leadership. Serving nearly 250,000 Ohioans annually, community colleges connect students to in-demand careers and are the top workforce partner for Ohio employers with more than 1,000 employer partnerships. The OACC champions a classroom-to-career pipeline, advocating for student opportunity and success, fostering collaboration, and promoting the transformative impact of community colleges on students, businesses, and communities across Ohio.

## Media Contact:

Avi Zaffini
Ohio Association of Community Colleges (614) 221-6222